← Back

Outreach News

Monday, 09 April 2018

The ICN2 reopens its doors for this year's ESCOLAB

Lab tours give young students the opportunity to interact with real scientists and get a sense of what happens at a research centre. Last week almost 100 students came through our doors to learn about the research carried out at the ICN2. This event was made possible thanks to the participation of the researchers and admin personnel who gave up some their time to organise some unique experiences.

Lab tours offer young students a unique opportunity to enter a research facility and interact with real scientists. Through such actions a real bond is established between young students and science, in our case introducing them to life at the nanoscale. ESCOLAB is a well established initiative led by the Barcelona City Council in which the ICN2 is a regular participant. 

At this year's ESCOLAB the ICN2 hosted a total of three tours for students from the Institut Banús in Cerdanyola del Vallés, the Institut Martorell in Martorell and the Institut Bosc de la Coma in Olot. Following a general introduction to the nanoworld and the work developed at the ICN2, students interacted with researchers from the ICN2 Groups.

We would like to thank all the ICN2 professionals who contributed to the success of the 2018 ESCOLAB tours:

  • Advanced Electron Nanoscopy Group
    ICREA Prof. Jordi Arbiol

  • Atomic Manipulation and Spectroscopy Group
    Marc González
    Dr. Cèsar Moreno

  • Electron Microscopy Unit
    Dr. Belen Ballesteros
    Marcos Rosado

  • Force Probe Microscopy and Surface Nanoengineering Group
    Prof. Jordi Fraxedas

  • Marketing And Communication Department
    Àlex Argemí
    Ana De La Osa

  • Nanostructured Functional Materials Group
    Miguel Moreno
    Yolanda Sabater

  • Phononic and Photonic Nanostructures Group
    Dr. Emigdio Chávez
    Dr. Marianna Sledzinska

  • Supramolecular Nanochemistry and Materials
    Dr. Mary Cano
    Dr. Marta Sanmartí

  • Physics and Engineering of Nanodevices Group
    Dr. Juan Sierra
    Dr. Marius Costache