Friday, 18 December 2015

Nikos Kehagias

Dr Nikolaos Kehagias graduated from the Physics department of Aristotle University in Thessaloniki, Greece in 2002. He has a Master degree in “Physics of laser communications” from Essex University, UK. He obtained his PhD in 2007 from the National university of Ireland, Cork where he continued to work as a post doctoral fellow until May 2008.

He joined the ICN in May 2008, first as member of the Phononic and Photonic Nanostructures Group. In 2010 he became Division Leader of the Nanofabrication Division and since 2014 he leads the Flexible Nanofabrication Platfom.

Friday, 18 December 2015

Neus Domingo

Dr Neus Domingo obtained her degree in physics and her PhD at the University of Barcelona in 2000 and 2005 respectively. Later on, she joined the Istituto di Struttura della Materia (CNR) in Rome, Italy (2005-2007). In 2008, she started working at the CIN2 as a Juan de la Cierva Researcher and in 2011 she became a member of the ON group holding a Ramon y Cajal Research Grant.

Dr Domingo can count on a strong materials science background, spanning from molecular magnetism and nanoparticles to piezo- and ferro-electricity and nanoscale electromechanical phenomena, with special emphasis on surface science. She considers herself a nanotechnologist and an AFM enthusiastic. Her current research interest lies in the field of scanning probe microscopy of functional materials and ferroics, and physical chemistry of ferroelectric surfaces.

Wednesday, 14 October 2015

Josep Nogués

ICREA Research Professor Josep Nogués earned his degree from the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (UAB) in 1986. After obtaining his PhD at the Kungliga Tekniska Höskolan (Royal Institute of Technology) in Stockholm (Sweden) in 1993, he moved to the University of California San Diego (USA) to complete his postdoctoral studies. Four years later he returned to the UAB as an associate researcher, becoming an ICREA research professor in 2001 and a founding member of the former Catalan Institute of Nanotechnology (ICN) shortly thereafter. His Magnetic Nanostructures group was formally integrated into the ICN structure in 2006.

Thursday, 10 December 2015

Jose Antonio Garrido

Jose A. Garrido is an ICREA Research Professor and leader of the ICN2 Advanced Electronic Materials and Devices Group, which explores novel electronic materials, such as graphene and other 2D materials, and their potential in electronic and bioelectronic applications.

He received his Master’s and PhD degrees in Telecommunication Engineering from the Universidad Politécnica de Madrid in 1996 and 2000, respectively. From 2001 to 2004 he worked as a postdoc at the Walter Schottky Institute, Technische Universität München (Germany). He obtained his habilitation in experimental physics at this university in 2010 and from 2011 to 2015 held a lecturer (privatdozent) position at its department of physics. In 2015 Jose A. Garrido joined the ICN2 where, in addition to his role as Group Leader, he is Vice-Director and has been Head of the Strategy Development Office.

Sunday, 20 September 2015

Gustavo Ceballos

Dr Gustavo Ceballos earned his degree in chemistry at the Universidad Central de Venezuela in 1989. He obtained his PhD in 1996 at the Institut für Physikalische und Theoretische Chemie der Universität Bonn (Germany).